Opening times

Coronavirus update – reading rooms

Our reading room service is suspended while national restrictions are in place. Please see our news story for details.

Closure dates

We are usually closed for bank holiday weekends (including the Saturday), and for Christmas and New Year. All dates listed below are inclusive:

  • Christmas: Thursday 24 December to Monday 28 December
  • New Year’s Day (2021): Friday 1 January
  • Easter: Friday 2 April to Monday 5 April
  • May bank holiday: Saturday 1 May to Monday 3 May
  • Spring bank holiday: Saturday 29 May to Monday 31 May
  • Summer bank holiday: Saturday 28 August to Monday 30 August
  • Christmas (2021): Friday 24 December to Tuesday 28 December
  • New Year’s Day (2022): Saturday 1 January to Monday 3 January